New Day, New Month = New Program

A new program is being implemented at our house this month. Our oldest, Big M, is ten years old going on 16. That’s right…and it’s driving me nuts.

So to be proactive and to quell certain unlovely behaviors before they happen (which causes a nasty reaction from me)…and of course to teach consequences, money management, etc… I’ve developed this special chart just for her.

Here’s the idea. She doesn’t get paid for chores. Those are tasks that are expected of her as a member of our family. Everyone will have a list soon. After all, it’s not fair for me to be upset when my expectations aren’t met if my expectations aren’t clearly (verrrrry clearly) spelled out. I mean, I’m not living with mind readers (I’ve known this all along but I’m just now dealing).

At the beginning of each month, Big M will receive $10 ($1 for each year of her age)… A base salary, if you will. Out of this $10, 10% will be set aside for tithing, 10% will be set aside for saving, and the rest can go in the “spend” category. The savings is for something BIG…such as an iPad (yes, this is on her mind), a trip to Mexico (ahem…), etc. The “spend” category can be spent (within reason and with parental approval) or also saved. And when it’s gone, it’s gone. I’m predicting a few lessons in how quickly money can disappear in our future.

She has a way to earn a few extra bucks each week (to be split into tithing, save and spend). These opportunities are spelled out under “Commissions”. If each of these tasks were completed at every possibility, she would have the chance to earn an extra $16 each month!! You can imagine how her wheels started turning at this one!!

But of course there’s a catch. This is life after all and there are always negative consequences to be had in response to undesired behaviors. So each month/week, after she is paid her base salary and commissions, we will look at her fines and see what she has to pay. These fines don’t cost a lot but if you can imagine how many times a tween rolls her eyes or gets sassy in a day, this little area can add up quickly.

We are testing our program out this weekend. She is marking things on her board with a dry erase marker just to see where she falls (especially in the “fines” category). I don’t think she realized how often she gets sassy, says “off limits” words or phrases and makes disrespectful hand gestures at people when she’s annoyed. (And no, I’m not referring to the middle finger…Tweens have progressed since I was a kid).

Even though this is a practice weekend, her behavior has already improved. I know, I know, we are all of 30 minutes in and still in the honeymoon phase, but she really REALLY wants an iPad 🙂

20130831-123125.jpg

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suane
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 00:01:35

    Great Idea!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 08:55:38

    I love your idea of commissions and fines for the chores!!! I haven’t seen that yet and it’s perfect. I have a 9 year old girl that I am struggling with (sounds similar to your situation in the blog above). Sweet girl, but getting a little too big for her britches.
    Could you post the picture bigger or send me a picture of it to my email address. heathermelmore@gmail.com
    I want to see what your commissions are and what the fines are. I need some ideas. It’s too small for my 40 year old eyes!. Thank you so much!

    Reply

  3. lmstroup
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 09:21:55

    For commissions, my daughter earned 25 cents for each of the times she performed the following tasks: collecting trash from all trashcans, cleaning off the table for dinner, emptying the dishwasher.

    For fines, she was charged 50 cents for every time she backtalked, told an adult ‘no’, shouted at someone or fought with her younger siblings. She was charged 25 cents each time she said an off-limit word or phrase, such as stupid, shut up, I hate you, dumb, etc.

    We would use tally marks next to each item as she performed commission tasks or received fines and then added everything up at the end of the week.

    Reply

  4. Kelsey
    May 26, 2015 @ 01:14:56

    I wish the photos was clear. I need your ideas especially on fines! 11 y/o going on 16!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

