Friend meets Friend

The boy made a friend at the pool this afternoon. Her name is…well… Friend. He didn’t bother to ask and neither did she. They were just happy to splash around together. And if they needed each other’s attention, they would call out “hey friend! Come over here!”

What’s cute about it is that he picked her as a friend. He knows and plays with lots of people, all of which are around due to activities we are in, the church we go to, our own adult friends, etc. And he calls all of those kids his friends. But this little girl was chatting me up when he came and whispered into my ear “can I play with her? Can we be friends?” So he asked her to be his friend, but he wasn’t really sure what to do next. He went and stood close to her but they didn’t really interact. He came back to me and asked “mom, how come she won’t play with me?” Lol…so I gave him some ideas of things to do together…go down the slide, play in the fountain, have swimming races. That got the ball rolling and from that point on, they played together beautifully.

It got me to thinking though. I watched Les Miserables yesterday and that scene popped into my head where Hugh Jackman’s character realizes Cozette (his daughter) is in love and he says something to the effect of “I’ve been dreading this day, when another would steal her heart.” I know I’m being a little dramatic but I saw a glimpse of my boy not just being mama’s, but a little more out in the world, meeting people, making friends… And eventually, a girl will come along and steal his heart. Woe is me.

But for now, we will continue the countdown to his first day of preschool 🙂

Leave a Reply

